page 1
page 2
page 3
page 4
page 5
page 6
page 7
page 8
page 9
page 10
page 11
page 12
page 13
page 14
page 15
page 16
page 17
page 18
page 19
page 20
page 21
page 22
page 23
page 24
page 25
page 26
page 27
page 28
page 29
page 30
page 31
page 32
page 33
page 34
page 35
page 36
page 37
page 38
page 39
page 40
page 41
page 42
page 43
page 44
page 45
page 46
page 47
page 48
page 49
page 50
page 51 page 52
page 53
page 54
page 55
page 56
page 57
page 58
page 59
page 60
page 61
page 62
page 63
page 64
page 65
page 66
page 67
page 68
page 69
page 70
page 71
page 72
page 73
page 74
page 75
page 76
page 77
page 78
page 79
page 80
page 81
page 82
page 83
page 84
page 85
page 86
page 87
page 88
page 89
page 90
< prev - next > Social and economic development discovering technologists (Printable PDF)
Gender and Technology Training Guidelines
I am not writing this to get a present from you or to get my name published in the
Navaliya. I hope that this will be useful to you. Our village is seven miles away from
Kandy town. Surrounded by paddy fields, a stream and a tea estate our environment
is very peaceful.
I get up at 4.30 am. After making tea I prepare parcels of rice for my children to take
to the school. I prepare the breakfast. My eldest daughter is 19 years old and the
youngest is 11 years. They leave home at 6.30 am.
My husband sweeps the front yard before he goes to work. He draws the water also.
Our Garden is about half an acre. He goes around the garden to collect firewood and
ripe fruits. He leaves home at 7.45 am. After that I am alone with three pups and a
kitten. They keep me company until I clean the house. Then I wash our clothes.
Now I am 45 years old, retired prematurely from a government clerk’s job. I love to
eat fruits for breakfast. We have many fruits in our garden and sell the excess fruits. I
buy eggs, fish and meat out of that. After 12.00 noon I am free to listen to the radio.
Our children come home at about 2.30 p.m. After that we take lunch together. They
love to eat jak, breadfruit and yams with meat, fish or dry fish. When we have such
things I won’t cook rice. Children attend to their studies from 3.00 p.m. to 5.30 p.m.
They do not attend to tuition classes. I help them in all subjects except dancing and
music. They are good in their studies. I am proud of them.
At about 5.30 p.m. we sweep the house and light the Buddha lamp. The television is
not a hindrance to us because we watch selected programmes. By about 9.30 p.m.
we go to bed. I have something special to tell you. Our monthly income is less than
Rs. 5000/- . But we manage well. We do not have high hopes. If you are coming this
way please drop in here. Many beautiful birds come to our garden. I’ll write to you if
someone gets sick.
Thilaka Siriwardana